GENESIS 26 – OBEDIENCE

“I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and will give them all these lands, and through your offspring all nations on earth will be blessed, because Abraham obeyed Me and did everything I required of him, keeping My Commands, My Decrees and My Instructions.” Genesis 26:4-5

In Genesis 26 we see that God rewards obedience and that the obedience of a parent can bring blessings on a child. Thanks to the obedience of Abraham, Isaac was blessed by The Lord. Likewise, Isaac, following the example of his father, obeyed The Lord when He asked him not to go to Egypt.

“The Lord appeared to Isaac and said, “Do not go down to Egypt; live in the land where I tell you to live. Stay in this land for a while, and I will be with you and will bless you. For to you and your descendants I will give all these lands and will confirm The Oath I swore to your father Abraham.” Genesis 26:2-3

“So Isaac stayed in Gerar.” Genesis 26:6

Like Abraham and Isaac, let us learn to obey The LORD; let us learn to observe His Commandments, and we will obtain His Blessings in His Time, and these Blessings may be poured out upon our posterity.

Leave a Reply

